One of my Favorite Students

As background for new readers, I help direct a fine arts program for elementary aged children on Wednesday nights at my church.  Below is a photo of one of my favorite students. For the record, they’re all my favorite. I love children, all children, even the ones that are particularly difficult. This student is supposedly difficult, but I don’t agree. He’s an artist. A few weeks ago, we were making arcs (as in Noah’s Arc) and this student was drawing lifelike animals on his arc. Let me repeat lifelike, as in perfect proportions, and look like the animals they’re supposed to, in action even, by a seven-year-old. I wish I thought to take a picture of his arc so you would believe me.  Below, he seems to be imitating the main character “Johnny” from Kidmo, the Sunday morning program. I believe he was entertaining the other two students while waiting for the program to begin.

One of my Favorite Students

One of my Favorite Students

Comments are closed.