Current Project, Puri-Tea Gowns

I’m currently working McCalls 3954, view A.

McCalls 3954

McCalls 3954

Nearly three weeks ago, my former boss’s wife (also a friend of the family) contacted me to see if I would be interested in designing gowns for her Puri-Tea hostesses. The women had an idea of what they wanted the gowns to look like.

Picture of Ideal Puri-Tea Gown

Picture of Ideal Puri-Tea Gown

The gowns are made from white cotton sateen. I modified the pattern to add long sleeves to two of the gowns, and will also add dainty rose patterned lace around the neck line.  You may notice my notes on the pattern jacket showing the added sleeves and sash.  Two of the gowns will have colored accents, and the third will be completely white.

I thought it might be fun to add a picture of my cutting table. This is not the messiest it will get, and I may snap a few more pictures along the way.
Cutting Table

Cutting Table

A side note completely unrelated to the post, but since she’s in the picture; the dress form in the background is Madeline, and she’s wearing the crinoline that I wore under my wedding gown. I am not a size 4 like she is, so I altered the crinoline so that it would have a drawstring waist and Maddy could wear it.

Comments are closed.