On Taxes

I feel like I’m alone in this opinion, so I’d like you all to weigh in with your opinions. Please keep comments nice.

I feel like raising taxes on only the richest (iethose who make over $250,000) is like penalizing the rich for working hard to get where they are. That’s not to say that there are some that are wealthy that didn’t work hard to get where they are.

I fit into the middle class category and we’re not even half way to the $250,000 mark for. However, let’s assume I finally managed to let a book go, it was published, and I hit the best seller’s list.  Then, let’s assume that the higher taxes go into effect for the upper class, and assume I make $250,000 that first year. The government takes 65% in taxes, that leaves me with $87,000. Why should I bother publishing if I will be left with so little? If I choose not to publish because I will end up with so little of it after the fact, the government just lost some potential tax revenue they may have had if everything in my scenario came true.

This is the way I look at it. Remember, under Sen. Obama’s proposal to raise taxes on only those making more than $250,000, I don’t have to worry right now.

So, weigh in. What do you think? Why is taxing the rich more a good idea? They already pay 35%+ in taxes (and I pay only about 15-18%).  I’m not saying I want to pay more taxes, I’m just asking why there’s a sliding standard.

One response to “On Taxes

  1. I doubt I will ever be int he 250k range of income, but it does seem unfair that someone who is in an occupation that gives them 250k a year would be taxed so much that they would essentially have the same standard of living if they made half as much, therefore the government loses those taxes because what’s the point if they’re going to be taxed so much more.

    I’m torn, because I doubt we’ll ever make that much money, but at the same time those who do make 250k will still need it to live on and I think they deserve the perks that go with having an occupation that makes them 250 k a year.

    I dunno. We can’t contribute as much as someone who makes more, but I don’t think those who make more should have to live at a much lower economical status because they’re taxed to death.