2008 Presidential Election

What options are available to Americans if they don’t like either candidate? (Other than voting for a third party.)

I’m afraid that Sen. Obama is going to raise taxes even though he says he won’t. The last democratic president promised no tax hikes, then hiked them when he was elected. Since the democrats control congress I don’t think Sen. Obama will have any isues pushing legislation through.

One reason I don’t like McCain is because of his healthcare plan. The only thing I can hope if he’s elected is because congress is controlled by the Democrats he won’t be able to get anything done.

I don’t think we can afford gridlock in the house and senate for four years.

While I don’t want to pay higher taxes, even if Sen. Obama raises taxes on the middle class (me), I think it will be a lot less painful than making health benefits taxable.

Thoughts? If you will be so bold, which candidate are you voting for and why? Please keep comments nice.

2 responses to “2008 Presidential Election

  1. I would like to say that I’m truly an undecided voter. Two months ago, even two weeks ago, I would have told you that I was leaning toward McCain, but that’s no longer true.

    I don’t like either candidate. I should have figured that out before now.

    Don’t tell Aunt Mackie, but I wish Sen. Clinton was running against Sen. McCain. Not that I’m saying that I would support her, but I’m not saying that I wouldn’t either.

  2. I’m voting for Obama.

    I too like his health care plan over McCain’s, and I agree with more of his political stances, though not many.

    I want to explore alternative energies and I rather not drill off the coast of the US. I think it would cause more damage ecologically than what 3 or 4% of the world’s oil is worth.

    I think vouchers for school only help a minority, we should be aiming to help the majority.
    If my children ever choose to go, or have to go because of circumstances, I want the public education system to be better than it is right now, so I do care about this issue.

    Those are two things I remember from the debate last night. We had two little girls distracting us.

    I also do not like Palin and would not want her running the country if McCain were to die, which is a lot more likely than most want to admit. Even if he weren’t to die, what if he gets some age related mental disease, like Alzheimer’s, and is unable to act as president?

    I think Obama and Biden are the lesser of two evils.