National Novel Writing Month

Since I clearly am not busy enough working, building my at home business Cotton Costumes, and trying to lose weight (through diet and exercise) I think I’ll participate in National Novel Writing Month. My handy dandy new computer, which is small enough to tote around in my purse, could go with me everywhere. I would only need to write 50,000 words in 30 days, which is 1700 words a day or 3-5 pages a day.

What do you think?

Should I go for it?

Which of these two genres would you be most likely to read: suspense or fantasy?

5 responses to “National Novel Writing Month

  1. It’s the Suspense/Mystery… Stay tuned.

  2. The suspense story sound interesting. Go for it Girl!

  3. I also have an Historical Fiction book in the works, but NaNoWriMo wants you to start from scratch.

    I really should pick a genre. I write what I read, suspense/mystery, sci-fi/fantasy, and historical fiction. My only issue with historical fiction is the amount of research it requires, which is what attracted me to writing fantasy I could make everything up.

  4. You should totally go for it … and then let me know how hard it was. 🙂 I’m a historical fiction fan myself. But enjoy some suspense and fantasy too. I’ll look forward to hearing what you come up with.

  5. Hi, I found this post on Twitter.
    I have to say, as someone who has done NaNoWriMo the past two years: it can be painful, but it’s worth it. 1667 words a day isn’t all that much, but there’s inevitably a day or three a week that you can’t write. However, if you think you can do it, go for it!

    And Suspense and Fantasy are two of my favorite genres. Write whatever you want, that’s the point of NaNo: loosening up.