McCalls 4926 Pattern Review

Pattern: McCall’s 4926

Fabric Recommendations: Lightweight Gabardine, Lightweight Flannel, Lightweight Tweeds, Lightweight Crepe

Pattern Description: Straight-legged pants in various lengths have waistband, carriers, side front pockets and mock fly zipper with or without cuffs.

Pattern Sizing: 14-20

Did it look like the drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, basically, except the legs seemed much wider in person than the picture.

Were the instructions easy to follow? For the most part the instructions were very easy to follow. My one complaint was that the order in which the pieces were put together made it difficult to finish the seams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  I think it was a general disappointment, and nothing really stood out in either direction.

Fabric Used: 99% Cotton/1% Spandex Lightweight Denim

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? Probably not because the legs are too wide for my taste.

Would you recommend it to others? No

Conclusion: I purchased the pattern because of the wide legs, but when I actually made up the pattern, I decided the legs were just a little too wide when it was finished.  Also, the measurements shown for the sizing and finished size measurements seem to be larger in person than print. I made the pattern that corresponded to my measurements, but it was way too large when I finished it. Also, the rise was too long and if pulled up properly, extends far above my natural waist. The darts on the back were somewhat pointy, but that might be due to the material, not the pattern. I’m hoping after I wash it that it will shrink somewhat and be wearable. I didn’t pre-wash the material because I was in a hurry to make it last night after work to wear today.

Comments are closed.