Works for Me Wednesday – Easy Hems

This time last year, I was at a friend’s house and she had a nifty foot on her sewing machine that allowed her to do narrow rolled hems without any muss or fuss. It took me nearly a year to purchase the foot for my machine.

Up to this point, to make narrow hems, I’d run a serger around the bottom, then fold up the hem just past the top of the serger thread and sew it down. I didn’t have to iron or pin, just fold it as I sewed. Obviously, this involved two steps and massive amounts of thread.

I purchased a narrow hem foot in October and attempted to use it several times but couldn’t until my friend showed me how.

4mm Rolled Narrow Hem Foot

4mm Rolled Narrow Hem Foot

First: Fold a portion of the hem and position it under the foot. (I place a pin at the end to hold it in place and help me as I feed it into the foot.

Folded and pinned

Folded and pinned

 

Positioning the hem

Positioning the hem

Second: pull that portion of the hem you folded into the curve in the foot. I sometimes have to work it in, and others it’ll just slip in.

Pulling fold into foot

Pulling fold into foot

Third: begin sewing, folding as you sew, the foot will even out the hem as long as you don’t fold over the material too much. You don’t have to fold it perfectly, but I find it sews better if you roll it as you sew.

Sewing hem, folding as you go

Sewing hem, folding as you go

And you’re done, wasn’t that easy?

Finished hem

Finished hem

As for the price, it was about $20, a little steep but worth every penny in the time and thread it saves.

For other great tips, check out Rocks in my Dryer.

3 responses to “Works for Me Wednesday – Easy Hems

  1. great post! i need to look into one of these for my machine. i’m getting back into sewing for myself and my son so it would come in handy.

  2. Oh, I like this very much! I will be checking out this nifty addition for my sewing machine!

    Thanks for sharing this tip!

  3. I have some of these feet that came with my sewing machines and I’ve been too intimidated to use them… but now, I think I need to!

    You have a great blog, I’ve enjoyed looking through your previous projects and pattern reviews.