Mendocino

I visited Mendocino for the first time when I was 16, more than 10 years ago, and again on my Honeymoon, 4.5 years ago.  Mendocino is located along the Pacific Coast in California north of San Francisco.

I vowed on my first visit, as soon as I was able, that I would buy a retreat up there, an ivory tower, if you will.  My desire to buy a retreat along the Northern California coast has not waned.  If anyone has an extra $490,000 lying around and would like to buy me a little retreat among the Redwoods, I won’t say no.

I have all the story starts that were inspired by my visit to Mendocino (and San Francisco).  I was sixteen when I penned these story ideas, and wonder where I was going with the stories, since I can’t remember. I have a story that features a young woman (imagine that) who is travelling by train inland from the coast for some reason. Why? Who knows? I have 38 typed pages on this story. Rereading this story, I realize what a difference 10 years makes in writing style and ideas.

A little bit of trivia about Mendocino, Murder She Wrote was actually filmed in Mendocino, and “Jessica Fletcher’s” home was actually a Bed and Breakfast in Mendocino. Click here if you don’t believe me.

Sorry, at the moment, I do not have any pictures to post of Mendocino, from either visit, but I will post them as soon as I can find them.

What are your favorite places to visit (regularly or not) and why?

One response to “Mendocino

  1. Clarify for me which one I’m buying, a place in Western Montana or a place in the Redwoods or both?