Renaissance Gown

Renaissance Gown, Front View

Renaissance Gown, Front View

Renaissance Gown, Back View

Renaissance Gown, Side View

Renaissance Gown, Side View

Renaissance Gown, Detail

Renaissance Gown, Detail

 

Materials: burgundy cotton sateen, burgundy taffeta with black flocked pattern, black satin ribbon

I absolutely love this gown.

The bodice was boned giving it a beautiful shape. The skirt was quite full; the photos show the skirt over my bridal crinoline which is about 4′ in diameter as pictured. 

Construction: the chemise and underskirt were easy to construct. The bodice and over skirt were all one piece and were fairly difficult to work because I used heavy taffeta. After breaking my gathering stitches more times than I can count, I ended up gathering the skirt by hand.  Also, the bodice is pointy, and I had some difficulty making the skirt hang right around the point.  I actually finished the raw edge of front opening with a hem instead of just trimming it as the pattern suggested.

3 responses to “Renaissance Gown

  1. nevermind this is simply a fight that i cannot win

  2. please tell me that is not the one you made for mom a long time ago